During the confinement period, we proposed you a "living room" section every week in which you could watch a selection of artists' videos without moving from your living room.

living room #7

 

14/05/2020

Jonathan Monaghan

This time it's Jonathan Monaghan's turn, who presents a selection of his videos. They will remain accessible for one month, until June 15.

Monaghan's work presents a provocation: is contemporary commercialism mimicking the superfluity of the Baroque age? His work is prophetic in the context of the current pandemic and lockdown. His work addresses veneer aesthetics, power structures and politics, blind consumer behavior, and the romanticization of an otherwise unattainable future. The highly stylized, elegant, and pristine computer-generated utopias presented by the artist persuades the viewer to cognitively look elsewhere, thereby providing a safe haven for the darker, more sinister elements that also permeate contemporary visual culture and society.

living room # 6

 

07/05/2020

Jean-Baptiste Caron

 

This time it's Jean-Baptiste Caron's turn who presents us with a selection of videos, some of which show the setting in motion of his works.

The more Jean-Baptiste Caron gives us to see, the more the rules of logic seem to fade away, letting us believe in the mere action of magic. Delete to reveal what is given to see for the best. The artist acts less in a demiurgical gesture than in a revealing act. Finally, he happens to be a Usher offering the viewer the possibility to become active. A revealing usher not without a touch of humour as he plays with Time. He disrupts it, disturbs us to the point where we wonder what is illusion and what is not.

living room #5

 

30/04/2020

Chloé Poizat

​​

This week, we present a selection of 5 short videos of Chloé Poizat.

Chloé Poizat never stops playing with the disappearance and transformation of beings, landscapes and things. If necessary, she calls on imaginations if not dead at least disappeared to activate hers (even if she doesn't need it). Everything becomes a story of thresholds, ovniesque journeys, passages, and transfigurations.

living room #4

 

23/04/2020

Claudia Larcher

Here is a selection of recent videos by Claudia Larcher. They will remain accessible for one week, until April 30.

"Space as an explicit object of the Plastic Arts immediately intervenes twice in the works
by Claudia Larcher. First as a reflection on the perception of Space by the artist and by the observers. Then by the artist's reflection and the reflections on Architecture led by others. In the first place, such a Design is an intellectual Se-localization: within other artistic strategies, a Re-consider. From there comes his own work which looks at the artistic heritage of the Moderns and the Postmoderns, ultimately leading to digital transformations and, thereby, to the Present. "

living room #3

 

16/04/2020

Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion

This time, we present a selection of videos from Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion. Artist duo, live and work in Paris.
"Since 2009 the French couple has been focusing on projects that, renovating the modernist language of film, make an extensive use of appropriated content from the web, which is freed from its status of meaningless, apparently valueless data floating in the information networks to be rearranged in complex, algorithmically generated, sometimes interactive narratives, or into powerful, iconic images."

living room #2

 

09/04/2020

Salut c'est cool

This week, we are presenting a selection of recent videos from the collective Salut c'est cool, around the theme of confinement at home.
Some videos have no images but only sound, perfect for dancing in front of your screens! Others, like the video The dinette, have no sound but only images and text, in the style of a photo novel. This video was presented at the gallery during the collective's last personal exhibition in 2018. The pieces Mon réfrigérateur, Ça sent la maison, Menu, Le cassoulet are taken from their latest album Maison (2019).

living room #1

 

02/04/2020

Caroline Delieutraz

This week, we are presenting the three videos of the work Aurélien by Caroline Delieutraz in French and English versions for a limited time. We presented them during her last solo exhibition at the gallery in autumn 2019.

Based on a series of interviews with a certain Aurélien, as well as the contents of his hard drive, Caroline Delieutraz is able to draw the digital portrait of a particularly effective troll, having operated in the years 2000 and 2010.

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  ph. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, metro : Jourdain/Pyrenées line 11 / bus : 26, Open: Wednesday - Saturday 2pm - 7pm or by appointment

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Pendant la période de confinement, nous vous avons proposé toutes les semaines une section "living room" dans laquelle vous pouviez visionner sans bouger de votre salon une sélection de vidéos d'artistes.

living room #7

 

14/05/2020

Jonathan Monaghan

​​

C'est le tour de Jonathan Monaghan, qui nous présente une sélection de ses vidéos. Elles resteront accessibles pendant un mois, jusqu'au 15 juin.

L'œuvre de Monaghan présente une provocation: le mercantilisme contemporain imite-t-il le superflu de l'époque baroque? Son travail est prophétique dans le contexte de la pandémie et du verrouillage actuels. Il aborde l'esthétique des placages, les structures de pouvoir et la politique, le comportement aveugle des consommateurs et la romantisation d'un avenir autrement inaccessible. Les utopies générées par ordinateur hautement stylisées, élégantes et immaculées présentées par l'artiste persuadent le spectateur de regarder ailleurs cognitivement, offrant ainsi un refuge sûr pour les éléments plus sombres et plus sinistres qui imprègnent également la culture et la société visuelles contemporaines.

living room #6

 

07/05/2020

Jean-Baptiste Caron

Cette fois-ci c'est au tour de Jean-Baptiste Caron qui nous présente une sélection de vidéos dont certaines montrant la mise en mouvement de ses œuvres.

Plus Jean-Baptiste Caron nous donne à voir plus les règles de la logique semblent s’effacer nous laissant croire à la seule action de la magie. Effacement pour mieux (dé)voiler ce qui est donné à voir. L’artiste agit moins dans un geste démiurgique que dans un acte révélateur. Il se trouve finalement être un passeur offrant la possibilité au regardeur de devenir actif. Passeur révélateur non sans une pointe d’humour car il vient jouer avec le Temps. Il le perturbe, nous perturbe au point que l’on se demande ce qui est illusion et ce qui ne l’est pas.

living room #5

 

30/04/2020

Chloé Poizat

Cette semaine, nous vous présentons une sélection de 5 courtes vidéos de Chloé Poizat.

Chloé Poizat ne cesse de jouer de la disparition et de la transformation des êtres, des paysages et des choses. Au besoin elle en appelle aux imaginations sinon mortes du moins disparues pour activer la sienne (même si elle n’en a pas besoin). Tout devient une histoire de seuils, de voyages ovniesques, de passages, et de transfigurations

living room #4

 

23/04/2020

Claudia Larcher

Voici une sélection de vidéos récentes de Claudia Larcher. Elles resteront accessibles pendant une semaine, jusqu'au 30 avril.

"L’Espace comme objet explicite des Arts plastiques intervient d’emblée deux fois dans les travaux
de Claudia Larcher. D’abord comme réflexion sur la perception de l’Espace et par l’artiste et par les observateurs. Ensuite par la réflexion de l’artiste et les réflexions sur l’Architecture menées par d’autres. Un pareil Concevoir est en premier lieu est un Se-localiser intellectuel : au sein des stratégies artistiques d’autres, un Re-considérer. De là pro- vient son propre travail qui se penche sur l’héritage artistique des Modernes et des Post-modernes, pour finalement déboucher dans des transforma- tions numériques et, par-là, dans le Présent."

living room #3

 

16/04/2020

Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion

Cette semaine, nous vous présentons une sélection de vidéos récentes du duo Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion.

Duo d'artistes, vivent et travaillent à Paris.
Depuis 2009, le duo français s’est concentré sur des projets qui, réinventant le langage moderne du film, réemploient et s’approprient largement des contenus du web. Les libérant de leur statut de données apparemment insignifiantes et dénuées de valeur, ils les réarrangent en dispositifs complexes et narratifs, parfois générés algorithmiquement, ou encore en de puissantes images iconiques."

living room #2

 

09/04/2020

Salut c'est cool

LA DINETTE


Cette semaine, nous vous présentons une sélection de vidéos récentes du collectif Salut c'est cool, autour du thème du confinement à la maison.

Certaines vidéos n'ont pas d'images mais uniquement du son, parfait pour danser devant vos écrans ! D'autres, comme la vidéo La dinette, n'ont pas de son mais que des images et du texte, dans le style d'un roman-photo. Cette vidéo a été présentée à la galerie lors de la dernière exposition personnelle du collectif en 2018. Les morceaux Mon réfrigérateur, Ça sent la maison, Menu, Le cassoulet sont extraits de leur dernier album Maison (2019).

living room #1

 

02/04/2020

Caroline Delieutraz

AURELIEN

Cette semaine, nous vous présentons les trois vidéos de la pièce Aurélien de Caroline Delieutraz en versions française et anglaise pour un temps limité. Nous les avions présentées lors de sa dernière exposition personnelle à la galerie en automne 2019.

À partir du disque dur d’un certain Aurélien et des entretiens qu’elle a pu mener avec lui, Caroline Delieutraz dresse le portrait numérique d’un troll particulièrement efficace, ayant opéré dans les années 2000 et 2010.  Dans un jeu d’attraction répulsion, l’artiste explore les stratégies déployées par l’autoproclamé « roi des trolls ».

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  tél. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, métro : Jourdain/Pyrenées ligne 11 / bus : 26, Ouvert du mercredi au samedi, 14h-19h et sur RDV

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon