We are in the third week of LIVING ROOM, section in which you can watch a selection of artists' videos without leaving your couch during this period of confinement.
This time, we present a selection of videos from Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion.
Artist duo, live and work in Paris.
"The meaning of value in a post-whatever era, the mass abundance of images - from amateur image production to professional images to algorithmically generated images - and the consequent shift of the artist from production to post-production - and from the creation of works to the generation of formats - are all recurring topics in the recent work of Émilie Brout and Maxime Marion. Since 2009 the French couple has been focusing on projects that, renovating the modernist language of film, make an extensive use of appropriated content from the web, which is freed from its status of meaningless, apparently valueless data floating in the information networks to be rearranged in complex, algorithmically generated, sometimes interactive narratives, or into powerful, iconic images."

Domenico Quaranta, AFK. Texts on Artists 2011 - 2016, 2016, Link Editions

Lightning Ride, 2017, UHD video, 7'40''

With Lightning Ride, it is poles of technology, organics and mysticism that collide with electricity as a connecting point. The video is produced from excerpts of "Taser Certifications", a sort of ceremony authorizing in the United States the use of Tasers in the condition of being tased by someone else. Filtered with the Photoshop’s "oil painting effect”, slowed down and accompanied by a disturbing soundtrack, the succeeding images show us bodies and faces whose deformations and positions evoke a feeling of pain as well as a Christian ecstacy. Everything unfolds as if the miracle of electricity, symbol of the rationalization of the world, revived paradoxically an aspiration to transcendence, antipodes joining each other and disappearing in profit of a new map of possibilities. (Sarah Ihler-Meyer)

b0mb,  2018, generative video, website, 9'58''

Production: La Villa du Parc, Annemasse, FR

See online

b0mb is an online generative video, renewed at each viewing and accessible via a dedicated website. With an intense rhythm, it presents a montage of hundreds of images of all kinds from the internet, displayed on a musical soundtrack where one can hear the voice of Gregory Corso reading his poem Bomb (1958).
Declaration of love to the most terrible technology and metaphor of human self-destructive nature, the poem has a wide variety of lexical fields giving it an almost universal dimension. Figure of the Beat Generation, Corso seeks to produce here a poetry where the sentences would be without perspective, building his text via a juxtaposition of keywords “against” each other. The artists then performed a work of “writing reduction”, filtering and rewriting the poem in order to translate its content into queries for search engine such as Google Image. Each image visible in b0mb thus comes automatically from the result of one of these queries, selected according to popularity algorithms and displayed synchronously with the stated text, on a predefined editing. If the duration and the sound remain fixed, the images are renewed on each viewing, evolving little by little in the time, over the news.
Because of the great diversity of subjects covered in the poem and the heterogeneous nature of the images (amateur photographs, commercials, cliparts, press, definition variations, etc.), the work reveals a kind of snapshot of web culture. By a frantic sequence of indifferently innocuous, beautiful or terrible images, they also account for the violence that can emerge from it.

b0mb, 2018, site web, vidéo générativ

A Truly Shared Love (trailer), 2018, UHD video, 5'20''

Production La Villa du Parc, Annemasse, FR

He looks at her, eyes enamored. She looks at him later, while he is asleep. A cat basks in the bed. Can we imagine greater sweetness? Revisiting the fantasy of shared love, the artist duo Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion makes a five-minute video looking like the trailer of a love movie: theirs. Shot in their studio - remodeled for the occasion in a setting of extreme neutrality - the video follows the demanding specifications of Shutterstock, a platform that sells images and videos to professionals of all kinds ... Hence the smooth appearance and impeccable rigor of the plans. The objective: winning acceptance by the platform, currently examining and publishing each shot. To do this, in addition to their work on aesthetics, they have provided free spaces that will allow potential customers to slip their advertising within the film itself: this is why the characters work on computers with a green background, on which the camera zooms in a long time. As such, the images give a vertiginous impression of emptiness, factitious life, organized according to unbearable standards - to be happy, it would be necessary to be young, white, heterosexual, in a relationship, thin, beautiful ... And yet. Some clues, slipped here and there, instil a touch of malice and intimacy at the very heart of neutrality. Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion have indeed asked three artists to create works inserted throughout the film: a tapestry and a drawing of Jimmy Beauquesne, a black jacket of Ludovic Sauvage, and the poster of the film, by Yannis Pérez. Above all, they are truly in pairs, and in love - impossible not to feel it during the kissing scene, pure flash of sensuality. They try to invite a little of their private life and their art to the heart of Internet standards [...]".
(Maïlys Celeux-Lanval, “De l’amour en stock”, Beaux-Arts Magazine, November 2018)

Featuring works of Jimmy Beauquesne and Ludovic Sauvage

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  ph. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, metro : Jourdain/Pyrenées line 11 / bus : 26, Open: Wednesday - Saturday 2pm - 7pm or by appointment

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Pendant cette période de confinement, nous vous proposerons toutes les semaines une section "living room" dans laquelle vous pourrez visionner sans bouger de votre salon une sélection de vidéos d'artistes.
Cette semaine, nous vous présentons une sélection de vidéos récentes du duo Emilie Brout & Maxime Marion.

Duo d'artistes, vivent et travaillent à Paris.
"La signification de la valeur dans une ère post-quelle-qu’elle-soit, l’abondance en masse d’images – de la production aussi bien amateur que professionnelle aux images générées algorithmiquement – et le déplacement de l’artiste de la production à la post-production, et de la création d’œuvres à la génération de formats, sont tous des thèmes récurrents dans le travail récent d’Émilie Brout et Maxime Marion. Depuis 2009, le duo français s’est concentré sur des projets qui, réinventant le langage moderne du film, réemploient et s’approprient largement des contenus du web. Les libérant de leur statut de données apparemment insignifiantes et dénuées de valeur, ils les réarrangent en dispositifs complexes et narratifs, parfois générés algorithmiquement, ou encore en de puissantes images iconiques."

 

Domenico Quaranta, AFK. Texts on Artists 2011 - 2016, 2016, Link Editions

Plus d'informations.

Lightning Ride, 2017, vidéo UHD, 7'40''

Avec Lightning Ride, ce sont les pôles du technologique, de l’organique et du mysticisme qui se télescopent avec l’électricité pour point de jonction. Il s’agit là d’une vidéo réalisée à partir d’extraits de « Taser Certifications », une sorte de cérémonie autorisant aux Etats-Unis l’usage de Tasers à condition de se faire soi-même taser. Passées au filtre « peinture à l’huile » sur Photoshop, ralenties et accompagnées d’une inquiétante bande-son, les images qui se succèdent donnent à voir des corps et des visages dont les positions et déformations évoquent aussi bien une douleur qu’une extase christiques. Tout se passe ici comme si la fée électricité, symbole de la rationalisation du monde, relançait de manière paradoxale une aspiration à la transcendance, les antipodes se rejoignant et disparaissant au profit d’une nouvelle carte des possibles. (Sarah Ihler-Meyer)

b0mb, 2018, vidéo générative, site web, 9'58''

Production La Villa du Parc, Annemasse, FR

Voir en ligne

b0mb est une vidéo générative en ligne, différente à chaque visionnage et accessible via un site web dédié. Avec un rythme intense, elle présente un montage de plusieurs centaines d’images de toute nature présentes sur internet, défilant sur une bande son musicale où l’on entend la voix de Gregory Corso lisant son poème Bomb (1958).
Déclaration d’amour à la plus terrible des technologies et métaphore de la nature autodestructrice de l’homme, le poème comporte une grande diversité de champs lexicaux lui conférant une dimension presque universelle. Figure de la Beat Generation, Corso cherche à produire ici une poésie où les phrases seraient absentes de perspective, construisant son texte via une juxtaposition de mots-clés les uns "contre" les autres. A partir du poème, les artistes ont alors effectué un travail de réduction d’écriture, de filtrage et d’interprétation, pour traduire son contenu en requêtes pour moteur de recherche tel que Google Image. Chaque image visible dans b0mb provient donc automatiquement du résultat d’une de ces requêtes, sélectionnée selon des algorithmes de popularité, et s’affiche de manière synchronisée avec le texte énoncé, par un montage au chemin de fer prédéfini. Si la durée et le son restent fixes, les images sont renouvelées à chaque visionnage, évoluant peu à peu dans le temps, au fil de l’actualité. La pièce se comporte telle un protocole automatique en ligne, puisant dans son environnement des visuels pour les donner à voir sous un autre jour le temps d’un instant.
De par la grande diversité de sujets abordés dans le poème et la nature hétérogène des images (photographies amateur, publicités, cliparts, presse, différences de définition...), l’œuvre donne donc à voir une sorte d’instantané de la culture visuelle d’Internet. Par un enchaînement effréné d’images indifféremment anodines, belles ou terribles, elles rendent aussi compte de la violence qui peut s’en dégager.

b0mb, 2018, site web, vidéo générativ

A Truly Shared Love (trailer), 2018, vidéo UHD, 5'20''

Production La Villa du Parc, Annemasse, FR

"Il la regarde, les yeux énamourés. Elle le regarde, plus tard, alors qu’il est endormi. Un chat se prélasse dans le lit. Peut-on imaginer plus grande douceur ? Revisitant le fantasme de l’amour partagé, le duo d’artistes Émilie Brout et Maxime Marion réalise une vidéo de cinq minutes qui fait figure de teaser à un film d’amour : le leur. Tournée dans leur atelier – remanié pour l’occasion en décor d’une extrême neutralité –, la vidéo suit le cahier des charges exigeant de Shutterstock, une plateforme qui vend images et vidéos à des professionnels de tout type... D’où l’apparence lisse et la rigueur impeccable des plans. L’objectif : faire accepter le film, actuellement en cours d’examen par la plateforme. Pour ce faire, en plus de leur travail sur l’esthétique, ils ont ménagé des espaces libres qui permettront aux éventuels clients de glisser leur publicité au sein même du film : c’est pourquoi les personnages travaillent sur des ordinateurs à fond vert, sur lesquels la caméra zoome longuement. Telles quelles, les images donnent une impression vertigineuse de vide, de vie factice, organisée selon des standards insupportables – pour être heureux, il faudrait être jeune, blanc, hétérosexuel, en couple, mince, beau... Et pourtant. Quelques indices, glissés ici et là, instillent une pointe de malice et d’intimité au cœur même de la neutralité. Émilie Brout et Maxime Marion ont en effet demandé à trois artistes de créer des œuvres insérées au fil du film : une tapisserie et un dessin de Jimmy Beauquesne, un blouson noir de Ludovic Sauvage, et l’affiche du film, de Yannis Pérez. Surtout, ils sont véritablement en couple, et amoureux – impossible de ne pas le sentir durant la scène du baiser, pur éclair de sensualité. Ils tentent donc d’inviter un peu de leur vie privée et de leur art au cœur des standards d’Internet [...]".
(Maïlys Celeux-Lanval, “De l’amour en stock”, Beaux-Arts Magazine, novembre 2018)


Avec des pièces de Jimmy Beauquesne et Ludovic Sauvage

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  tél. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, métro : Jourdain/Pyrenées ligne 11 / bus : 26, Ouvert du mercredi au samedi, 14h-19h et sur RDV

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon