press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
1/1

Jonathan Monaghan, Latet Anguis II, 2021, Giclée on Hahnemühle Photo Luster mounted on ragboard, maple frame, 12,9 x 17,3 inches

#67

 

06/11/2021 - 18/12/2021
Jonathan Monaghan
Power Trip
solo show

 

Opening weekend, in the presence of the artist:
Saturday 06/11/2021, 2pm-8pm
Sunday 07/11/2021, 2pm-7pm

Power Trip exalts technophilia while presenting dreamlike spaces associated with the aesthetics of utopia and fantasy.

The appliances emulated within this exhibition are quotidian devices that are used to send and receive data (Internet of Things). Driven by voice activation and sold at a semi-accessible price point, a wide range of consumers are invited to live and communicate with these products. This human-machine dialogue is steadily impacting the language and behaviors of contemporary culture. Jonathan Monaghan examines the aesthetic function of these devices, elevating them to the level of festooned decoration to further illustrate their insignificance. His sardonic renderings act as a cautionary portrait of capital and overconsumption. 

In a video intitled Den of Wolves (2020) Jonathan Monaghan's subversive approach unfolds into a new level of interpretation. When the artist first started on this piece, at the start of 2020, its barren urban environments were meant to emphasize feelings of isolation often caused by a disconnect between humans and technology. However, empty grocery store shelves and abandoned Apple stores take on a new layer of meaning today: it is a scenario that has become commonplace in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic. The video installation creates a new mythological narrative about power and authority in the digital age by revisiting the Capitol in Washington, D.C., sending us back to the rioters storming the Capitol on January 6, 2021 after this video was made. 

Power Trip explores material, digital and technological excess as a characteristic of contemporary society and, by presenting Jonathan Monaghan's prescient vision, reminds us of an artist's ability to extrapolate the future from his or her perception of the present.

PRESSE RELEASE

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
1/1

Jonathan Monaghan, Latet Anguis II, 2021, Giclée sur Hahnemühle Photo Luster montée sur papier coton, cadre en érable, 33 cm x 44 cm

#67

 

06/11/2021 - 18/12/2021
Jonathan Monaghan
Power Trip
exposition personnelle

 

week-end d'ouverture

en présence de l'artiste :
samedi 06/11/2021, 14h-20h
dimanche 07/11/2021, 14h-19h

Power Trip exalte la technophilie contemporaine tout en présentant des espaces oniriques en y associant les codes esthétiques de l’utopie et de la fantaisie.

Les appareils intelligents émulés au sein de cette exposition sont des objets du quotidien utilisés pour envoyer et recevoir des données (internet des objets). Pilotés par l'activation vocale et vendus à un prix accessible, un large éventail de consommateurs est invité à vivre et à communiquer avec ces produits. Ce dialogue homme-machine a un impact constant sur le langage et les comportements dans la culture contemporaine. Jonathan Monaghan examine la fonction esthétique de ces appareils, les élevant au rang d’ornements pour mieux illustrer leur insignifiance. Ses interprétations sardoniques constituent un portrait à la fois prudent et édifiant du capitalisme et de la surconsommation.

Au sein d'une vidéo intitulée Den of Wolves (2020) la démarche subversive de Jonathan Monaghan se déploie dans un nouveau niveau d’interprétation. Lorsque l'artiste a commencé à travailler sur cette œuvre, au début de l'année 2020, ces environnements urbains déserts étaient censés souligner le sentiment d'isolement souvent causé par la déconnexion entre les humains et la technologie. Cependant, les étagères vides des épiceries et les magasins Apple abandonnés prennent une nouvelle dimension aujourd'hui : c'est un scénario devenu courant à la suite de la pandémie de coronavirus. L'installation vidéo crée un nouveau récit mythologique sur le pouvoir et l'autorité à l'ère numérique en revisitant le Capitole de Washington, nous renvoyant aux émeutiers prenant d’assaut le Capitole le 6 janvier 2021 après que cette vidéo ait été réalisée.

Power Trip explore l'excès matériel, numérique et technologique comme caractéristique de la société contemporaine et, en présentant la vision prémonitoire de Jonathan Monaghan, nous rappelle la capacité d'un artiste à extrapoler l'avenir à partir de sa perception du présent.

 

DOSSIER DE PRESSE