Exhibition organized with the kind support of the Cultural Mission of Luxembourg in France and the Cité Internationale des Arts

GOUV_MC240.jpg
1 - PASTILLE ROUGE.png

#59

Vera Kox
footprints to fingertips
Solo show

21/11/2019 - 21/12/2019
opening Thursday 21/11/2019, 6 pm

As part of her current residency at La Cité internationale des arts, Vera Kox, luxembourger artist based in Berlin, is invited to invest 22,48m2 Gallery for a specific project which report on her latest works. An opportunity for the artist to experiment her recent researches conducted in Paris in the context of the gallery.

« Polyurethane, bubble wrap, pearls of silica gel, plaster, or ceramics, all of which are materials explored by Vera Kox for their textures and effects. Her sculptures in artificial colors evoke future relics of an industrial present. In a tension between the organic and the inorganic, the artist combines synthetic materials with entropic forms to form an estranged landscape. » (Extract from catalogue Flatland / abstractions narratives, group show curated by Marianne Derrien and Sarah Ihler-Meyer, Marc Occitanie and Mudam, 2016-2018)

This exhibition will lead to a text conceived by the art critic Marianne Derrien. A program of visits and meetings will be proposed all along the exhibition.

Vera Kox (LU/DE) works primarily in sculpture and installation art. She holds a Masters degree in Fine Arts from Goldsmiths College, London (2010) and has shown her work in institutions and galleries internationally. Her work has recently been shown at Bienvenue art fair, cité des arts in Paris and at Exgirlfriend, Berlin, at Klemm’s gallery Berlin, Opdahl gallery Stavanger, Ribot Milan. She has participated in institutional exhibitions at MRAC Sérignan, Mudam Luxembourg, Palais d’Iena, Paris, Casino Forum d’Art, Luxembourg. Vera Kox has been a resident at Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin, Casino Forum d’Art Contemporain, Seoul Art Space, and School of Visual Arts New York.

PRESS RELEASE

22,48 m²,

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  ph. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, metro : Jourdain/Pyrenées line 11 / bus : 26, Open: Wednesday - Saturday 2pm - 7pm or by appointment

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Exposition organisée en coopération avec la Mission culturelle du Luxembourg en France et avec la Cité Internationale des Arts.

GOUV_MC240.jpg
1 - PASTILLE ROUGE.png

#59

Vera Kox
footprints to fingertips
exposition personnelle

21/11/2019 - 21/12/2019

​vernissage jeudi 21/12/2019, 18h

 

Dans le cadre d'une résidence en cours à la Cité internationale des arts, Vera Kox, artiste d'origine luxembourgeoise-allemande basée à Berlin, est invitée à investir la galerie 22,48 m² pour un projet spécifique qui rend compte de ses dernières œuvres. Une occasion pour l’artiste de montrer ses récentes recherches dans le contexte de la galerie parisienne.

"Polyuréthane, papiers à bulles, perles de gel de silice, plâtre ou céramique autant de matériaux dont Vera Kox explore les effets de texture et de matière. Ses sculptures aux couleurs artificielles évoquent des reliques futures d'un présent industriel. Dans une mise en tension entre l'organique et l'inorganique, l'artiste combine ainsi des matériaux synthétiques avec des formes entropiques dans un étrange paysage composé." (extrait du catalogue Flatland / abstractions narratives, exposition collective curatée par Marianne Derrien et Sarah Ihler-Meyer, Mrac Occitanie et Mudam, 2016-2018)

Cette exposition donnera lieu à un texte conçu par la critique d'art Marianne Derrien. Un programme de visites et de rencontres sera proposé tout au long de l’exposition.

Vera Kox (LU/DE) travaille principalement l'installation et la sculpture. Elle a obtenu un Master in Fine Arts au Goldsmiths College, London (2010) et a exposé son travail dans des institutions et galeries internationales. Son travail a été récemment montré à Bienvenue Art Fair, Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris, à Exgirlfriend, et Klemm’s gallery, Berlin, Opdahl gallery Stavanger, Ribot Milan. Elle a participé à des expositions dans différentes institutions: au MRAC Sérignan, Mudam Luxembourg, Palais d’Iena, Paris, Casino Forum d’Art, Luxembourg. Vera Kox a effectué plusieurs résidences : au Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin, au Casino Forum d’Art Contemporain, au Seoul Art Space, et à la School of Visual Arts de New York.


 

DOSSIER DE PRESSE

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  tél. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, métro : Jourdain/Pyrenées ligne 11 / bus : 26, Ouvert du mercredi au samedi, 14h-19h et sur RDV

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon