1/1

#58

Caroline Delieutraz
When We Were Trolls (WWWT)

Solo show

12/09/2019 - 16/11/2019

opening Thursday 12/09/2019, 6 pm

Caroline Delieutraz’s upcoming solo exhibition at the 22.48 m² gallery showcases the continuation of her work regarding the circulation of images in the age of Internet and social networks. The artist's new pieces focus on
internet violence and the myths that determine it.

In the exhibition When We Were Trolls (WWWT), Caroline Delieutraz explores the more sinister aspects of the Internet through the figure of the "troll". This term is used to describe people who deliberately post inopportune or excessive comments with the intention to disrupt online communities and to elicit strong reactions from other users. Over the years, trolling has acquired a particularly threatening aura, owing to its use in attempts at political destabilization as well as the level of violence that is sometimes involved, including cases of group harassment.
Based on a series of interviews with a certain Aurélien, as well as the contents of his hard drive, Caroline Delieutraz is able to draw the digital portrait of a particularly effective troll, having operated in the years 2000 and 2010. Through the use of masks and avatars, she develops a form of documentary writing which drifts from a virtual space (albeit one with very real implications) to a sort of bitter dreamscape. The artist explores the strategies deployed by the self-proclaimed "king of trolls" as a game of attraction/repulsion. She depicts the pride-tinged confessions of a self-professed sociopath using elements which are made ambiguous by the very act of trolling and its assumed anonymity, thus straddling the line between pieces of evidence and trophies. These fragments of Internet’s recent history reveal the paradoxes of a socially inadequate world, in which harassment is interwoven with rhetoric and play, and in which one’s intelligence is used to harm others for “fun”, randomly striking at “what is public but is not great”.

Philippe Bettinelli

PRESS RELEASE

22,48 m²,

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  ph. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, metro : Jourdain/Pyrenées line 11 / bus : 26, Open: Wednesday - Saturday 2pm - 7pm or by appointment

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

1/1

#58

Caroline Delieutraz
When We Were Trolls (WWWT)

Exposition personnelle

12/09/2019 - 16/11/2019

vernissage jeudi 12/09/2019, 18h

 

Pour cette nouvelle exposition personnelle à la galerie 22,48 m², Caroline Delieutraz poursuit son travail sur la circulation des images à l’ère d'internet et des réseaux sociaux. Les nouvelles pièces de l’artiste traitent de la question de la violence sur internet et explorent les imaginaires qui la sous-tendent.


Dans l’exposition When We Were Trolls (WWWT), Caroline Delieutraz s’intéresse à la part sombre d’internet par le biais de la figure du « troll ». Ce terme sert à désigner les personnes dont les interventions intempestives ou outrancières sont destinées à perturber le fonctionnement de communautés en ligne, et à susciter de fortes réactions de la part de certains utilisateurs. Il s’est teinté au fil des années d’une aura menaçante, tant par l’usage de cette pratique à des fins de déstabilisation politique que pour la violence dont ont pu, jusqu’au harcèlement de groupe, faire preuve certains de ses adeptes.
À partir du disque dur d’un certain Aurélien et des entretiens qu’elle a pu mener avec lui, Caroline Delieutraz dresse le portrait numérique d’un troll particulièrement efficace, ayant opéré dans les années 2000 et 2010. De masques en avatars, se dessine une forme d’écriture documentaire qui, d’un virtuel aux implications bien réelles, glisse vers une rêverie amère. Dans un jeu d’attraction répulsion, l'artiste explore les stratégies déployées par l’autoproclamé « roi des trolls ». Elle met en scène la confession teintée de fierté d’un personnage se désignant lui-même comme sociopathe, à partir d’éléments dont le statut oscille, par l’activité même du troll et l’anonymat qu’elle présuppose, entre la pièce à conviction et le trophée. À travers ces traces prélevées dans l’histoire récente d’internet, les paradoxes d’un monde d’inadéquation sociale se dévoilent, où le harcèlement se mêle à l’exercice rhétorique et au jeu, où l’intelligence est mise au service d’un mal « pour le plaisir », frappant au hasard contre « ce qui est public sans être grand ».

Philippe Bettinelli

DOSSIER DE PRESSE

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  tél. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, métro : Jourdain/Pyrenées ligne 11 / bus : 26, Ouvert du mercredi au samedi, 14h-19h et sur RDV

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon