Group show
Group show

Exhibition view

Group show
Group show

Exhibition view

Group show
Group show

Exhibition view

Group show
Group show

Exhibition view

Hektor Mamet
Hektor Mamet

Objeu I-Phone visse, 2013, foam, fabric, 34,2 x 3,1 x 22,8 inches

Beat Lippert
Beat Lippert

Chimérisation #8, 2012, resin, sand, 6,3 x 3,74 x 4,3

Jean-Baptiste Caron
Jean-Baptiste Caron

La somme des possibles 2013, soft steel, 9,8 x 9,8 inches

Jean-Baptiste Caron
Jean-Baptiste Caron

Une histoire du monde, 2012, concrete, Ø 0,8 inches

Leopoldo Mazzoleni
Leopoldo Mazzoleni

Sedia da giardino, 2013, pvc, wood, iron, variable dimensions

Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion
Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion

Hold on, 2011-2012, interactive video installation

Sang-Sobi Homme
Sang-Sobi Homme

Désirable, 2013, wood, (chopsticks), silver leaves, 13 x 10,2 x 4 inches

Géraud Soulhiol
Géraud Soulhiol

San Paolo (Naples), series Arena, 2011, mechanical pencil 0,3B on white Canson paper, 16,5 x 12 inches

Géraud Soulhiol
Géraud Soulhiol

Old Trafford (Manchester), series Arena, 2010, mechanical pencil 0,3B on white Canson paper, 16,5 x 12 inches

Marianne Muller
Marianne Muller

Memory, 2013, deck of 24 cards, digital prints, playwood on wooden cardboard, 2,5 x 2,5 inches

Group show
Group show

Exhibition view

Caroline Delieutraz
Caroline Delieutraz

Sans titre (La Tour de Babel), 2013, puzzle, wood, 3136 pieces, 16,6 x 10,6 x 0,7 inches

1/1

#24

Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion, Jean-Baptiste Caron, Caroline Delieutraz, Sang-Sobi Homme, Beat Lippert, Hektor Mamet, Leopoldo Mazzoleni, Marianne Muller, Géraud Soulhiol

PLAY / DISPLAY

Group show

Curated by Rosario Caltabiano

13/09/2013 -31/10/2013

The exhibition PLAY/DISPLAY focuses on the idea of playing and its status in the world of art. If playing is, indeed, as defined by Roger Caillois, an activity that is free, detached, uncertain, unproductive, bound to rules and fictitious, then art is definitely a kind of play. And yet, as soon as the artworks are exhibited, even though they might have been created in a spirit of playfulness, the possibilities to amuse the viewer are reduced. Presented on a wall or on a pedestal and thereby often turned into sacred objects, they transform and reduce the ludic pact that was originally foreseen with the viewer. The rules of presentation allow for an internalized and private enjoyment only, regardless of the fact that certain artworks were specifically conceived with the intention to establish a recreative relationship with the viewer.

This exhibition provides an occasion to play with the conventions of exhibition and scenography. Between play and display there is a friction, a "game" that we invite to explore through a specific scenography which will, like a set of board games, turn the works of 10 artists, and the viewers into "players". The aim is to create a dialogue between the structure of the presentation and the artworks without providing a clear definition of the boundaries between both areas.
PLAY/DISPLAY deals with activities based on well established and structured rules, and with activities that are more spontaneous and imaginary. The works in the exhibition play with the difference between carefreeness on one side and conventions and rules on the other. The show will bring together works that can, at times, be manipulated, works without any other purpose than a playful one, games and children's toys revisited, representations of games and playable elements, and others.

 

PRESS RELEASE

 

Several workshops are foreseen within the context of this exhibition: Workshops for children and families from the borrow Piat-Faucheur-Envierges (75020) organized with our partner, the social centre ARCHIPELIA, and writing workshops with students from the University Paris 8 as part of an intensive bachelors program (Licence 1 Claire Fagnart and Nathalie Desmet). The exhibition will be part of the official program of the night-time arts festival Nuit Blanche and open its doors Saturday 5 October from 7 pm to midnight. The VIP Fiac brunch program will take place on Sunday 27 October from 10 am to 2pm.


With the kind support of the Mairie de Paris

1/1

#24

Émilie Brout & Maxime Marion, Jean-Baptiste Caron, Caroline Delieutraz, Sang-Sobi Homme, Beat Lippert, Hektor Mamet, Leopoldo Mazzoleni, Marianne Muller, Géraud Soulhiol

PLAY / DISPLAY

Exposition collective

Commissariat de Rosario Caltabiano

13/09/2013 -31/10/2013

L’exposition PLAY / DISPLAY s’intéresse au jeu et à son statut à part dans le champ de l’art. Si le jeu est, comme Roger Caillois l’a défini, une activité libre, séparée, incertaine, improductive, réglée et fictive, l’art relève incontestablement d’une forme de jeu. Pourtant, lorsque vient le temps d’exposer les œuvres – qui ont pu être produites par des artistes dans un esprit ludique – les possibilités d’amusement du visiteur se réduisent. Les œuvres accrochées au mur, posées sur un socle, souvent devenues des objets sacrés, transforment et réduisent le contrat ludique qui pourrait s’instaurer avec le spectateur. Les règles de présentation laissent place à un amusement intériorisé, privé, alors que certaines œuvres ont été conçues spécifiquement avec l’intention d’établir une relation récréative avec le visiteur.

Cette exposition est une occasion de jouer sur les conventions de l’exposition et de la scénographie. Entre play et display, jeu et exposition, il y a un frottement, un “jeu” que nous proposons d’explorer à travers une scénographie spécifique qui, telle une mallette de jeux dépliée, formera un parcours avec les travaux de 10 artistes. L'objectif étant de créer un dialogue entre la structure de présentation et les œuvres sans que la limite entre ces deux espaces soit clairement définie.

PLAY/DISPLAY concernera parfois des activités à règles bien établies et structurées, parfois des activités plus spontanées et plus fantaisistes. Les pièces présentées dans l’exposition joueront de cet écart entre l’insouciance d’un côté, des conventions et des règles à respecter de l’autre. Se côtoieront œuvres parfois manipulables, œuvres sans autre finalité que le jeu, jeux et jouets d’enfance revisités, représentations du jeu et du jouable, etc.

DOSSIER DE PRESSE



Dans le cadre de ce projet d’exposition, il est prévu des ateliers de création avec des enfants et des familles habitant le quartier Piat-Faucheur-Envierges (75020), en collaboration avec notre partenaire le centre social ARCHIPELIA et des ateliers de jeux d’écriture avec des étudiants de l’université Paris 8 dans le cadre d’un intensif de Licence 1 (Claire Fagnart et Nathalie Desmet). L’exposition sera également dans le programme officiel de la Nuit Blanche en tant que projet associé samedi 05/10 de 19h à 00h. Brunch programme VIP FIAC dimanche 27/10, 10h-14h.

 

Avec le soutien de la Mairie de Paris

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  tél. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, métro : Jourdain/Pyrenées ligne 11 / bus : 26, Ouvert du mercredi au samedi, 14h-19h et sur RDV

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon