Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Exhibition view © Ana Tamayo

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Exhibition view

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Exhibition view

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania No. 2, 2006, handmade cuttings, bamboo fibre paper, 25,6 x 25,6 inches

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Exhibition view © Ana Tamayo

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Exhibition view

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania carpet No.3, 2008, handmade carpet, colored wool, 78,7 x 78,7 inches

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania carpet No.3 (detail), 2008, handmade carpet, colored wool, 78,7 x 78,7 inches

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania no.1, 2006, hand cuts on bamboo fiber paper, 25,6 x 25,6 inches © Ana Tamayo

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Golden phœnix, 2007, silk embroidery, 21,7 x 21,7 inches

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania dragon, 2012, handmade colorful cut paper, 13,4 x 11,8 inches

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Wind from West • Bamboo, 2010, cut plastic bag, common pin, acrylic sheet, mini fan, timer and transformer, 24,6 x 32,5 x 3,5 inches

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

The last supper: fast food, 2009, photography, 19,7 x 14,8 inches

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Exhibition view

1/1

#17

Chen Hangfeng

禄 Prospérité

Solo show

Curated by Damien Brachet, Margherita Poli

et Rosario Caltabiano

11/05/2012 -28/07/2012

The works of Chen Hangfeng are made of many symbols we do not notice at first sight. Behind well arranged forms and lines lies a rather complex organization of signs. The combination of heterogenous shapes responds to the construction of images that allow different ways of reading.

At first sight they seem to derive from Chinese tradition, dear to the artist, as they reinterpret the meticulous art of handicrafts by the use of symmetric forms and a particular attention to details. Chen explores different techniques such as the art of carpet weaving, embroidery, and specifically cut outs with their thousand year old history.

Still, it's not the mere recovery of an ancient technique, but a true renewal of the art of paper cut-outs, its themes and forms. Chen's compositions bring together elements of the Far-Eastern tradition with symbols of 21st century Western consumer society, worlds that are frequently compartmentalized. In effect, he uses the language of contemporary art and references of his time to save the most ancient roots of his own culture.
Chen Hangfeng lives and works in Shanghai. His works have been exhibited in various galleries and museums, notably at the OV Gallery, at the Zendai Moma and RockBund Art Museum in Shanghai (China), Today Art Museum in Beijing (China), at Bradford Museum (UK), Casino Luxembourg (Luxembourg), Collective Gallery (Scotland) and at the White Rabbit Museum in Sydney (Australia).

The gallery 22,48 m² presents a set of works hitherto unknown in France. The works are also displayed in the gallery's offices, which will, exceptionally, be opened to the public just for the opening day, the 10th of May and till the 14th May.

 

Margherita Poli
[Translation by FRANK’S]

PRESS RELEASE

Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Vue d'exposition

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Vue d'exposition © Ana Tamayo

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Vue d'exposition

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Daily Prosperity, 2008, papier peint plastifié, impression digitale, dimensions variables

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

The last supper: fast food, 2009, photographie, 50 x 37,5 cm

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania No.2, 2006, découpage à la main, papier en fibres de bambou, 65 x 65 cm

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Vue d'exposition © Ana Tamayo

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania carpet no.3, 2008, tapis en laine fait à la main, 200 x 200 cm

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania no.1, 2006, découpage à la main, papier en fibres de bambou, 65 x 65 cm

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania no.1, 2006, découpage à la main, papier en fibres de bambou, 65 x 65 cm

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Golden phœnix, 2007, broderie en soie, 55 x 55 cm

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Logomania dragon, 2012, découpage à la main, 34 x 30 cm

press to zoom
Chen Hangfeng
Chen Hangfeng

Wind from West • Bamboo, 2010, sac en plastique découpé, épingle, mini-ventilateur, timer et transformateur, 62,5 x 82,5 x 9 cm

press to zoom
1/1

#17

Chen Hangfeng

禄 Prospérité

Exposition personnelle

Commissariat de Damien Brachet, Margherita Poli
et Rosario Caltabiano

11/05/2012 -28/07/2012

Les œuvres de Chen Hangfeng se composent de nombreux symboles qu’on n’aperçoit pas au premier regard. L’agrégation harmonieuse des formes et des traits cache une organisation très complexe de signes.  L’assemblage de figures  hétérogènes répond en réalité à la construction d’une image répondant à différents niveaux de lecture.

Au premier abord, les œuvres semblent issues de la tradition chinoise, chère à l’artiste, puisqu’elles réinterprètent la méticulosité des gestes propre au travail artisanal par l’usage de formes symétriques et un souci du détail. Chen explore différentes  techniques comme le tissage de tapis, la broderie et le découpage qui, par exemple, a une histoire millénaire en Chine. 

Cependant, il ne s’agit pas de la simple récupération de techniques anciennes, mais d’un véritable renouvellement, d’ordre thématique et formel. Dans ses dessins des éléments propres à la tradition orientale rencontrent ceux caractéristiques de la société de consommation occidentale du XXIe siècle, deux univers trop souvent cloisonnés. Il utilise un vocabulaire propre à l’art contemporain et un lexique de son temps pour sauvegarder les racines plus anciennes de sa culture. 

Chen Hangfeng vit et travaille à Shanghai. Il a exposé dans de nombreuses galeries  et musées, notamment à l’OV Gallery, au Zendai Moma et au RockBund Art Museum à Shangai (Chine), Today Art Museum in Beijing (Chine), au Casino Luxembourg (Luxembourg), au Collective Gallery (Ecosse), au Bradford Museum (Royaume-Uni) et au White Rabbit Museum de Sydney (Australie). 

La galerie 22,48 m² présentera un ensemble d’œuvres encore inconnues du public français. A l’occasion du vernissage et jusqu’au 14 mai les pièces seront montrées aussi dans les bureaux de la galerie, un espace habituellement inaccessible au public. 

DOSSIER DE PRESSE