1/1

#1

Rosario Caltabiano

NOMBREUXNOMBRILS

Solo show

Curated by Bo-kyoung Lee

04/11/2010 -25/11/2010

Come, see, show

 

Following the video installation 22.48 m² pour___ scheduled for last october 2 , Nombreuxnombrils is the exhibition that will actually give birth to the place 22 , 48m ². It is black and white photographs of navels, taken since 2005 from people that the artist met by chance, or he already knew. Empty frames are also there, that will be filled during the time of the exhibition, by the photogenic visitors navels. Also a loop video installation of these navels will be broadcast.

These photographs developed on matte paper cut in discs may give the impression to the viewer to be faced with a hole through which he would observe someone 's navel . They are hung on the wall in rows of a variable sequence of units by artist Rosario Caltabiano , sometimes just three or four , and sometimes ten , by inserting the empty frames that will receive the newly elected . Rosario Caltabiano presents them as he was composing a personal message with sentences written in navels-words in the exhibition space. This can ultimately evoke us a kind of letter in Morse code , consisting of dots and dashes , which would send us a rather intimate story . A story that observers should however still decode by telling themselves. However , given the diversity of form of these navels , each one is entitled to tell alone something to navelly capture all the attention. Facing this whole scene, which compress and concentrate such a identical crowd wanting itself different, you can lose yourself during a moment : am I really n front of navels ?

The television screen is at the back of the stage at the end of a dark and  narrow corridor, diffuses a silent video of the round images in a crossfade . When we look at these images that change smoothly, their movement product like a whisper in our ear.

For this project , Rosario Caltabiano started very logically from his own navel. Each navel on the wall is presented with his date and place of birth. These two elements are significant : this is the record , set in space and time, which marks the birth, which made two out of one, . Each navel is a divorce. First trace of a long series of pain, first injury for living. Today, these navels are being collected by the care of Rosario Caltabiano , their portrait painter . Present as living fossils , which would go back to that first encounter with the world, to imagine it .

In the context of this exhibition, a booth as a kind of rudimentary Photomaton is set in a corner of the place . This reduced shooting device would organize an intimate encounter , as it was at a confessional, between two people. The discussion could almost turn to the confession . Thus, what the artist archives and engraves, it is also the trace of sharing an experience with the navel .

Each navel, came from a different world, plays its own role "in the nude ." There has for scene only the light . Everyone plays the lead role in his own world, he is the center.

 

 

The place of the exhibition offers an opportunity for these navels to suggest a range of souvenirs. Nombreuxnombrils becomes the place which makes their meeting , their community, communion possible. This is the microcosm 22 , 48m ² wants to become through the various projects it leads . Nombreuxnombrils gives birth to 22 , 48m ².
Come, See and Show ! Do not you let yourself and your track , won't you join this community of world centers collected by Rosario Caltabiano ?

[ LEE, Bo- kyoung ]

 


Born in 1972 in Catania, Sicily. After earning an engineering degree at " Politecnico " in Turin in 1999 , he decided to undertake an artistic research in photography. He took lessons with Enzo Obiso and in 2008 obtained a Masters in Fine Arts at the University PARIS VIII . As part of his studies, his artistic interest widens the video, the short film , installation , intervention , photography , sound and writing. He lives and works between Paris and Italy.


 

22,48 m²,

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  ph. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, metro : Jourdain/Pyrenées line 11 / bus : 26, Open: Wednesday - Saturday 2pm - 7pm or by appointment

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

1/1

#1

Rosario Caltabiano

NOMBREUXNOMBRILS

Exposition personnelle

Commissariat de Bo-kyoung Lee

04/11/2010 -25/11/2010

Suite à l’installation vidéo 22,48m² pour___ programmée le 2 octobre dernier, Nombreuxnombrils est l’exposition qui mettra réellement au monde le lieu 22, 48m². Il s’agit de photographies en noir et blanc de nombrils grandeur nature, prises depuis 2005 sur des personnes que l’artiste a rencontrées par hasard, ou qu’il connaissait déjà. Des cadres vides sont aussi là, qui seront remplis, durant le temps de l’exposition, par les nombrils photogéniques des visiteurs. Une installation vidéo diffusera également en boucle les images de ces nombrils.

 

Ces photographies, développées sur papier mat et découpées en forme de disques peuvent donner l’impression au spectateur d’être face à un trou au travers duquel il observerait le nombril de quelqu’un. Elles sont accrochées au mur en alignements d’une séquence variable d’unités par l’artiste Rosario Caltabiano, parfois juste trois ou quatre et parfois une dizaine, en intercalant les cadres vides destinés à recevoir les nouveaux élus. Rosario Caltabiano les présente comme s’il composait un message personnel avec des phrases écrites en mots-nombrils dans l’espace de l’exposition. Cela peut finalement nous évoquer une sorte de lettre rédigée en code morse, constituée de points et de tirets, qui nous transmettrait une histoire plutôt intime. Une histoire que les observateurs devraient cependant encore décoder en se la racontant eux-mêmes. Pourtant, vu la diversité de forme de ces nombrils, chacun d’eux peut prétendre raconter à lui tout seul quelque chose, capter nombrilliquement toute l’attention. Face à l’ensemble de cette scène, où se compriment et se concentrent une telle foule d’identiques se voulant différents, on peut se perdre un moment : suis-je vraiment devant des nombrils ?

 

L’écran de télévision qui se trouve à l’arrière de la scène, au bout d’un couloir étroit et sombre, diffuse une vidéo muette de ces images rondes, égrenées l’une après l’autre en un fondu-enchaîné. Lorsque nous regardons ces images qui changent en douceur, leur mouvement produit comme un murmure à notre oreille.

 

Pour la réalisation de ce projet, Rosario Caltabiano est parti très logiquement de son propre nombril. Chaque nombril sur le mur est présenté avec sa date et son lieu de naissance. Ces deux éléments sont significatifs : c’est l’enregistrement, situé dans l’espace et le temps, qui marque la naissance, la rupture qui fit d’un, deux. Chaque nombril est un divorce. Trace de la première d’une longue suite de douleurs, première blessure obligatoire pour qu’il y ait vie propre. Aujourd’hui, ces nombrils se voient rassemblés par les soins de Rosario Caltabiano, leur portraitiste. Présents comme des sortes de fossiles vivants, qui permettraient de remonter jusqu’à cette première rencontre avec le monde, de l’imaginer.

 

Dans le cadre de cette exposition, une cabine est installée comme une sorte de rudimentaire Photomaton, disposée dans un coin du lieu. Ce dispositif réduit de prise de vue permettrait d’organiser une rencontre intime, comme au confessionnal, entre deux personnes. La discussion pourrait presque virer à la confession. Ainsi, ce que l’artiste archive et grave, c’est aussi la trace du partage d’un vécu grâce au nombril.

 

Chaque nombril, venu d’un monde différent, joue ici son propre rôle, « dans le plus simple appareil ». Il n’a pour scène que la lumière de l’éclairage. Chacun joue le rôle principal, dans son propre monde, dont il est le centre.

 

Le lieu de l’exposition offre donc l’occasion à ces nombrils de suggérer tout un ensemble de souvenirs. Nombreux nombrils devient le lieu qui rend possible leur assemblée, leur communauté, leur communion peut-être. Cela représente bien ce microcosme que 22,48m² veut devenir au travers des divers projets qu’il mènera. Nombreux nombrils met au monde 22,48m².

 

Venez, Voyez et Montrez ! Ne laisserez-vous pas vous aussi votre trace, ne vous joindrez-vous pas à cette communauté de centres du monde rassemblés par Rosario Caltabiano ?


 

22,48 m², 30 rue des Envierges, 75020 Paris,  tél. +33(0)981722637, e-mail : contact(at)2248m2.com, métro : Jourdain/Pyrenées ligne 11 / bus : 26, Ouvert du mercredi au samedi, 14h-19h et sur RDV

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon